• The Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award 2021

    The Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award 2021

    Katie is currently the President of The Romantic Novelists’ Association

    The Romantic Novelists’ Association exists to raise the prestige of romantic fiction, and to encourage romantic authorship. We champion the quality and diversity of romantic fiction.

    We are a professional body primarily for writers of romantic fiction. We also welcome publishing professionals, booksellers, book reviewers and writers in other media as associate members.

    The RNA has around 1000 members, including writers across the spectrum of commercial and women’s fiction, and we host events across the UK. The association organises the UK’s leading awards for excellence in romantic fiction, and hosts a range of workshops, talks, networking events, and a three-day annual conference.

    We are delighted to announce the shortlists for the 2021 Romantic Novel Awards

    The winners of the awards will be presented by actor and presenter Larry Lamb in a digital event on Monday 8th March. 

    The RNA’s awards are the only national literary prizes that recognise excellence in the genre of romantic fiction. In 2021 they comprise the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, the Goldsboro Books Historical Romantic Novel Award, the Romantic Comedy Novel Award, the Sapere Books Popular Romantic Fiction Award, the Jackie Collins Award for Romantic Thrillers, the Romantic Saga Award, the Fantasy Romantic Novel Award, the Libertà Shorter Romantic Novel Award and the Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award.  

    Novelist Mike Gayle will also be presented with the 2021 Outstanding Achievement Award, in recognition of his extraordinary contribution to the field of romantic fiction.

    RNA President Katie Fforde said, “Mike Gayle is a wonderful writer who brings a slightly different angle to the genre. His life as a journalist adds depth and maturity as well as masculinity to his work. I love his books.”

    Since its inception in 1960 the RNA has promoted excellence in romantic fiction and RNA Chair, Imogen Howson, commented, “This year’s shortlists showcase, yet again, the wonderful variety of romantic fiction, with books from publishers large and small, from some authors who are household names and others who may well be the next big thing. In difficult times, the sales of romantic fiction rise, and these books—with all their humour, drama, excitement, and romance—remind us exactly why.”

    In 2021 the Romantic Novel of the Year Awards will be held as a virtual ceremony, beginning at 7 pm on Monday 8th March. A link to the event will be shared closer to the time here, and on the RNA’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

    The Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award:

    Cow Girl, Kirsty Eyre, Harper Collins UK

    The Bookshop of Second Chances, Jackie Fraser, Simon & Schuster

    The Silent Treatment, Abbie Greaves, Century, Cornerstone

    This Is Not a Love Story, Mary Hargreaves, Trapeze

    A New Life for Ariana Byrne, Liz Hurley, Hera Books

    The Authenticity Project, Clare Pooley, Bantam Press


    More details on the other shortlists for 2021 Romantic Novel Awards here:


  • Comments on this post (0 comments)

  • Leave a comment